June 23, 2024

Since its release on October 4, Overwatch 2 has achieved what many players refer to as “love and hate”. 10 days after its release, they have reached 25 million players in this sequel, while login bugs and other errors are appearing.

Despite the chaos of the above, the game still maintains a strong competitive edge, which many newbies still don’t understand. Now that Blizzard corrected the competitive mode on October 13, which threw you at Bronze 5 after your placement matchesNow is a good time to start uploading, as long as you understand how it works.

Therefore, we will explain step by step how the system works. Overwatch 2, so that you stop having a bad experience and start uploading accordingly. It should be noted that if you have not played competitively before, you will not drop to Bronze 5… unless your level is.

Competitive Match Unlock and characters

While old players will be able to play directly in the competitive, new players will have to win 50 quick matches, where only games in feature queues and open queues count.

According to Blizzard in its blog, the reasons for this decision are the following:

“This (restriction) gives new players time to prepare for the higher expectations that come with competitive play, while veteran players won’t be put off by teammates who are less experienced. In the process of unlocking competitive, we analyze the skill levels of new players to optimize matchmaking in a way that feels right for everyone.”

Additionally, players who own the current Premium Battle Pass will be able to play as new champions as they come out each season. For example, if you want to play Kiriko competitively, you will need to purchase the first pass in Season 1, reach level 55 on the free pass, or purchase the character with credits in Season 2.


Like many games of this type, the rank system is a format where your position is segmented into a skill level. Each is divided into five divisions, with 5 being the lowest and 1 being the highest.

The skill levels are (lowest to highest):

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Prayed
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Teacher
  • Great master (no division)
  • Top 500 (no division)

When you reach the first division of each Rank and move up, you will start in the fifth division of the next rank.

Competitive System

Overwatch 2 has a very segmented competitive system, in which you can have different skill levels depending on the format and role you play, divided into four possibilities.

Each competitive match segment will have its own division, leaving you with a different rank in each. These are assigned after placement games, and can go up as the season progresses.

The segmentation is divided by:

  • queue by function:
    • Damage
    • Tank
    • Support for
    • Any (Puts you in one of the three above)
  • open queue (Your whole team can play any role)

With this system, each queue has its own Rank. For example, you can be Bronze 5 Damage, while in Open Tail, Tank or Support, you can have a higher rank and division. Once the season ends, it will return to some placement matches, which will be influenced by your performance in the previous season.

Positioning games

In each of the four segmentations you will have what is known as «Positioning games«, where you will not have a rank until you finish them. Your final rank will be determined when you win 7 games or lose/draw 20.

These matches won or lost will not affect the other segmentations, so you will have to go in the mix of winning 28 matches (7 for each segment) or losing / drawing 80 games as a limit. Your win streak won’t reset if you lose or draw, so you’ll still be able to try until you lose your 20.

After your placement matches, you will have a rank and division, which you can raise after 7 wins, conditional on your hidden MMR.

MMR and competitive

Contrary to what many players think, the ranks in which players fall are dictated with respect to a Hidden MMR (Match Making Rating), a hidden score that seeks to determine the skill level of each player.

To get to each rank and division, you need to have a number of base points, which are affected initially by placement matches and then by the role you chose. While in some games you only win or lose the games, the points in Overwatch are also influenced by the role you give to your team, because it is an objective game.

For example, if you were Moira (Support) and just attacking, having very low healing, don’t expect to go up, even if you won and did the most damage. Be careful, this does not mean that there is no MMR in your favor, but the game could punish you with less points, or even restart you if you did not focus on the role.

It should be noted that due to the Bronze 5 bug mentioned above, it is possible to skip several ranks if you performed very well and/or won all the games in a row.

Rewards and Competitive Points

Overwatch rewards ranks and victories with various prizes, such as titles, competitive points, and battle pass experience.

On the competitive points, the table is as follows:

  • Victory: 15 points.
  • Loss: 5 points.

In addition, there is a number of competitive points that you will earn based on the rank you placed in the season. If you achieved Gold or more, you will additionally get a title added to the season.

  • Bronze: 65 points
  • Silver: 125 points
  • Gold: 250 points
  • Platinum: 500 points
  • Diamond: 750 points
  • Master: 1200 points
  • Grandmaster: 1,750 points
  • Top 500: 1,750 points

Finally, the competitive points allow you to unlock the famous golden weapons, a special cosmetic that gives a character a chance for their weapon to be that color. These can be obtained with 3,000 points in the last category of each hero.

#Guide #Ranked #Rank #Position #Work #Overwatch #Geek #Alert

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!